Student Clubs

If you would like to start a new club or join an already existing one, stop by the Office of Student Activities in room L149 or contact T.J. Barber, Director of Student Activities at 860-512-3282. You can also download a Student Activities Interest Form and bring it to our office in Lowe 149.

NOTICE: The email addresses below are not to be used for solicitation by businesses. They are for official college business and student interaction only. BUSINESSES ARE TO SOLICIT THE OFFICE OF STUDENT ACTIVITIES AND NOT STUDENT CLUBS OR ADVISORS DIRECTLY.


Administrative Professionals Club
The purpose of this club is to promote awareness of administrative professionals and serve as a forum for ideas and discussions.
Club email: Admin_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Carla Adams, 860-512-2652, cadams@manchestercc.edu


Alpha Mu Gamma
The purpose of this organization is to recognize achievement in the field of foreign languages. Its goal is to stimulate a desire for linguistic attainment, to encourage an interest in the study of foreign languages and to foster the understanding of other people.
Club email: AMG_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisors: Barbara Place, 860-512-2698, bplace@manchestercc.edu, Linda Burk, 860-512-2684, lburk@manchestercc.edu and Diana Hossain, 860-512-2678, dhossain@manchestercc.edu


Arts Club (non-funded)
The MCC Arts Club will seek to form a group of people from various artistic disciplines including those of visual, music, theater, literature, performance, ceramics, etc. that can share their work and promote the arts throughout the community. This will be achieved by holding weekly club meetings, monthly events and various other activities.
Club email: Arts_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisors: Patricia Carrigan, 860-512-2695, PCarrigan@manchestercc.edu and Olivia Chiang, 860-512-2680 OChiang@manchestercc.edu


Black Student Union
The purpose of this organization is to promote unity and harmony among students of color with all other students, staff, faculty, administration and the greater community. The purpose is to enhance cultural diversity among students and to organize social and educational activities.
Club email: BSU_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisors: Robert Turner, 860-512-3328, RTurner@manchestercc.edu


Computer Repair & Share
The purpose of this organization is to repair and configure donated computers for distribution to MCC students in need of services and to assist students who need help with fixing their computers. All computer services are free of charge. Donations to the club’s fund for services are encouraged but not required.
Club email: Comp_Repair@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Russell Sabadosa, 860-512-2629, rsabadosa@manchestercc.edu


Criminal Justice Club
The purpose of the Criminal Justice Club is to provide an opportunity for students interested in Criminal Justice to learn more about the criminal justice system outside of a classroom.
Club email: CJ_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: David Dubiel, 860-512-2799, DDubiel@mcc.commnet.edu and Donna Nicholson, 860-512-2756, DNicholson@manchestercc.edu


Dance Team
The purpose of this organization is to promote school spirit and to serve as an avenue for students to express themselves through dance. In the past, the club has participated in community service by performing at nursing homes, teaching dance to Girl Scouts in Hartford, and sponsoring a holiday festival for community children during the holiday season. The Dance Team has also sponsored talent shows in which MCC students have had the opportunity to showcase their talents.
Club email: Dance_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisors: Wanda Haynes, 860-512-2691, whaynes@manchestercc.edu, Katherine Jones, 860-512-3213, kjones@manchestercc.edu and Maura O’Connor, 860-512-2692, MOConnor@manchestercc.edu


DARC (Drug and Alcohol Recovery Counselors)
The purpose of this organization is to promote awareness of substance abuse issues.
Club email: DARC_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Bobbi Fox, 860-512-2769, bfox@manchestercc.edu


Drama Club
The purpose of this organization is to promote appreciate of drama and the theater as an art form, to unite in a common bond all students with an interest in theater, and to publicly recognize and highlight drama created by students, faculty, staff and community members. The club coordinates activities such as field trips, guest speakers and charitable events and produces plays each semester. The club also engages students of any major in an outlet for creative expression, learning and practicing theatrical arts and community service.
Club email: Drama_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Kaarina Finegan, 860-512-2664, kfinnegan@manchestercc.edu


Education Club
The purpose of the Education Club is to provide a support group for students looking to pursue teaching degrees at 4-year institutions after attending MCC.
Club email: Edu_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisors: Paul Edelen, 860-512-2736, pedelen@manchestercc.edu and Sue Van Ness, 860-512-2683, svanness@manchestercc.edu


Green Club
The purpose of this organization is to promote issues concerning the environment and sustainability.
Club email: Green_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Jeremiah Sawma, 860-512-2730, jsawma@manchestercc.edu


Habitat for Humanity/Habitat Club
The purpose of this organization is to eliminate poverty housing and homelessness from the world and to make decent shelter a matter of conscience and action. Habitat for Humanity International is a nonprofit, ecumenical Christian housing ministry. Habitat invites people of all backgrounds, races and religions to build houses together in partnership with families in need.
Club email: Habitat_club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Kevin Skee, 860-512-3468, kskee@manchestercc.edu


ICE Radio Club
The purpose of this organization is to service, inform, educate and entertain the students, faculty and staff of MCC. The college has its very own radio station right here on campus! Listen to your favorite tunes, catch up on current events, and listen to the radio shows of MCC students, faculty and staff. If you would like more information on how to be involved in the radio station, contact the club advisor, Albert Kim. Listen live at www.manchestercc.edu/ice.
Club email: ICEradio@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Albert Kim, 860-512-2797, akim@manchestercc.edu


Le Cercle Francais (French Club)
The purpose of this organization is to promote interest in the study of the French language and culture.
Club email: French_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Barbara Place, 860-512-2698, bplace@manchestercc.edu


Live Wire Student Newspaper
The Live Wire is the college newspaper, managed and published by the students. There are seven to eight issues produced per year and membership is open to all students.
Club email: Live_Wire@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Stephania Davis, 860-512-2694, sdavis@manchestercc.edu, Live Wire office, 860-512-3290


Manchester Political Union
The purpose of this organization is to promote awareness of important political issues. Activities include voter registration and mock debates.
Club email: MPU_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Angelo Messore, 860-512-2755, amessore@manchestercc.edu


Manga, Anime and Gaming Club (MAG)
MAG is an acronym for Manga (Japanese comics) Anime (Japanese animation) and Gaming (video games). The purpose of this club is to provide a fun comfortable environment for gamers and nerds as well as anime and manga fanatics. We strive to create a community based around a mutual passion for these activities. Our goal is to raise money to attend conventions, host gaming tournaments and similar affairs.
Club email: MAG_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisors: Chuck Russell, 860-512-2629, crussell@manchestercc.edu


Muslim Student Association
The purpose of this organization shall be to promote friendly relations between Muslim and non-Muslim students, to further present Islam to the people of other faiths and cultures and to encourage brotherly bonds among college students and its community.
Club email: MSU_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisors: Diana Hossain, 860-512-2678, DHossain@manchestercc.edu


National Society of Black Engineers
The purpose of this organization is to increase the number of culturally responsible black engineers that excel academically, succeed professionally and positively impact the community.
Club email: NSBE_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Mehrdad Faezi, 860-512-2729, mfaezi@manchestercc.edu


The Newman Club (Catholic Club, non-funded)
The purpose of this organization is to act as a vehicle for social welfare activities for the community and to encourage the spiritual, intellectual and personal growth of its members, in accord with the tenets of the Roman Catholic Faith. Our intention is to provide corporal and spiritual works of mercy to the community.
Club email: Newman_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: James Gentile, 860-512-2667, JGentile@manchestercc.edu


Occupational Therapy Assistant Club
The purpose of this organization is to promote, organize, manage, direct, assist, recognize and enhance the student body’s knowledge of the Occupational Therapy profession, share plans and ideas, serve as a forum for discussion of relevant and current issues, and to serve as a centralized source of information and materials which may be used by all members.
Club email: OTA_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Margaret Moriarty, 860-512-2719, mmoriarty@manchestercc.edu


Outdoor Club
The purpose of this organization is to promote interest in the field of outdoor pursuits. Activities include camping hiking, orienteering, fishing, etc.
Club email: Outdoor_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Kevin Skee, 860-512-3468, kskee@manchestercc.edu


Paralegal Association
The purpose of this organization is to provide a network for interaction between students in the paralegal program and paralegal professionals employed in their field of interest.
Club email: Paralegal_club@manchestercc.edu
Advisors: Nance Kriscenski, 860-512-2642 nkriscenski@manchestercc.edu


Phi Theta Kappa (PTK)
Phi Theta Kappa is an internationally acclaimed honor society recognizing the academic achievement of associate degree students. The purpose of the Alpha Upsilon Alpha chapter is to promote scholarships, develop leadership and service, and cultivate fellowship among qualified students at Manchester Community College. To be eligible for an invitation to join, a student must be currently enrolled, have accumulated 12 semester hours earned at MCC, have achieved a minimum GPA of 3.75 and adhere to the College code of conduct.
Club email: PTK_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisors: Patrick Sullivan, 860-512-2669, psullivan@manchestercc.eduand Lucy Hurston, 860-512-2791, lhurston@manchestercc.edu


Poetry Club (non-funded)
The purpose of this organization is to promote the awareness of poetry and spoken word as art forms. Activities include poetry readings and open mic nights.
Club email: Poetry_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Jeanine DeRusha, 860-512-2670, jderusha@manchestercc.edu


PRIDE - People Respecting Intimacy and Diversity Everywhere
The purpose of this organization is to support and promote gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, questioning, intersex and straight students on campus; organize social activities; and educate members and others on campus about GLBTQI issues. All personal issues discussed during meetings, including members’ names and sexual orientation, shall be strictly confidential. No member shall discuss personal information regarding any member, advisor or associate, with non-members or in the presence of non-members.
Club email: PRIDE@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Jason Scappaticci, 860-512-3224 jscappaticci@mcc.comment.edu


Science & Engineering Club
The purpose of this organization is to promote a group of people interested in pursuing real-life applications of science and engineering. Activities include contests and competitions, engineering projects and field trips.
Club email: SciEng_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Negussie Tirfessa, 860-512-2731, NTirfessa@manchestercc.edu and Steven Moore, 860-512-2653, SMoore@manchestercc.edu


Game Club (non-funded)
The purpose of this organization is to promote and play the game of Scrabble.
Club email: Scrabble_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: David Caldwell, 860-512-2689, dcaldwell@manchestercc.edu and Chris Hamelin, 860-512-2725, CHamelin@manchestercc.edu


Spanish Club
The purpose of this organization is to promote interest in the study of the Spanish language and Latin culture.
Club email: Spanish_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Linda Burk, 860-512-2684 lburk@manchestercc.edu


Surgical Technology Student Club
The purpose of this student Club shall be to promote the surgical technology program and to provide a forum for gathering together as professionsl.
Club email: MA-Surg_Tech_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Richard Clark, 860-512-2715, rclark@manchestercc.edu


Community
The purpose of this organization is to admit persons to the society as members who embrace the Christian faith and subscribe to its doctrine and accept as truth its religious tenets and teachings.
Club email: Bible_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Albert Kim, 860-512-2797, akim@manchestercc.edu


VETS - Veterans Empowering Themselves to Succeed
The purpose of this organization is to assist veterans and their dependents to network and to serve as a liaison for the veterans community outside the college.
Club email: VETS_Club@manchestercc.edu
Advisor: Bobbi Fox, 860-512-2769, bfox@manchestercc.edu

Last Update: September 03 2014
For additional information, contact: T.J. Barber